Monday, May 5, 2014

Summary of the Colgate AAUP Faculty Meeting

April 14, 2014

An AAUP faculty meeting was held on Monday, April 14 and attended by 20 faculty.  The meeting began at 4:22 pm with opening remarks by the chapter President.  This afternoon’s meeting had two agenda items:  (1) a discussion of what our local AAUP chapter should be doing in the coming year(s), and how we should be doing it; and (2) election of a subset of AAUP officer positions with terms that expire at the end of the 2014 calendar year. 

The session began with a discussion of what our local AAUP chapter should be doing, and how we should be doing it.  This discussion was intended to provide guidance to our AAUP chapter.

The meeting then shifted to the matter of the election of officers.  The slate of candidates for the six open positions had been circulated by email to AAUP members on April 11, and was re-distributed at this meeting in hard copy.  The slate of candidates was as follows:

President    Jill Harsin    one year term 2015
Vice President    Bob Turner    one year term 2015,
   succeeding to President 2016
Treasurer    Nina Moore    one year term 2015
Secretary    Rick Geier    two year term 2015, 2016
At-large    Lenora Warren    one year term 2015
At-large    Eddie Watkins    two year term 2015, 2016

Additional nominations were solicited from the floor, and none were made.  The slate of candidates was approved unanimously by voice vote.  The terms will begin on January 1, 2015.

The meeting concluded at 5:35 pm.

Prepared by Rick Geier, Secretary of the Colgate University Chapter of the AAUP

No comments: